CAMRA announces 2021 Pub Design Awards winners

Bonus harian di Keluaran SGP 2020 – 2021.

CAMRA has unveiled the 2021 winners of its Pub Design Awards, which recognise stunning feats of architecture, design, and conservation in British pubs across the country.

Blind Bulll
The Blind Bull, Little Hucklow

There were seven winners across the different categories, ranging from best refurbishment to the Historic England Conservation award. One additional pub was highly commended in the competition.

The winners

Refurbishment award (joint winners): the Blind Bull, Little Hucklow, Derbyshire; and the Green Dragon, Flaunden, Hertfordshire

Refurnishment award (highly commended): the Air Hostess, Tollerton, near Nottingham

Conversion to pub use award (joint winners): Brickmaker’s Alehouse, Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex; and the Colmore Tap, Birmingham

Historic England Conservation award: the Swan and Railway, Wigan

Community Local award: Bridge Inn, Horwich, near Bolton

Swan and Railway
The interior of the Swan and Railway, Wigan

The awards announcements has been delayed from their usual time earlier in the year, in order to factor in coronavirus restrictions on pubs and allow the judging panel to visit the nominated establishments.  

Andrew Davison, chair of CAMRA’s Pub Design Award judging panel, said: “We are delighted to be celebrating the range of high-quality architecture and design that can be found in pubs across the United Kingdom today, especially after the trials of the last few months.  

“This year’s judges have selected a fantastic range of buildings, from a structure once used as a brick manufacturer’s showroom, to a beloved local that underwent a refurbishment planned to be as eco-friendly as possible. 

“They are examples of pubs that have been lovingly curated and preserved, and in some cases that have stood the test of time for years and years. Now that restrictions have lifted, we hope to join you all in celebrating this achievement with a visit to the pub and a pint at the bar.   

“We had a difficult time narrowing it down to just these seven awardees — congratulations to them all!”